What I really think about vegans: Days 1 and 2, and some of 3.

Today marks day number three of the 21-Day Vegan Kickstart (thank you pcrm.org and gigsanchez.wordpress.com), and Taylor and I are getting along with the vegan lifestyle famously. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not against eating animals or their by-products, necessarily, though it has always been somewhat of a gray area for me, even though I am hopelessly devoted to a number of dairy products.

Supposedly the idea of this vegan thing is to kickstart our health. A plant-based diet is supposed to lower our blood pressure and cholesterol, help us to lose weight, plus, for me it is a much more guilt-free lifestyle. I don’t feel that ridiculous guilt I felt while watching the movie “Fast Food Nation” (what a downer) and I can pig out and not feel too bad about it. Plus there is so much less fat involved, and empty calorie-consumption (of which I do plenty.)

Of course, the first thing I consumed on day one (aside from a couple pinches of granola) was a caramel macchiato (you know the routine–iced triple grande one-pump vanilla SOY caramel macchiato–no I don’t do the corporate coffee thing, but my girlfriend works there, which means it’s free, so why not?) I almost forgot to throw the soy in there, and realized how much more I love having milk in my coffee, just cuts it better, but the soy was also fairly enjoyable, though it made the drink a little sweet for my taste.

In other news, I have made a yummy veggie stir-fry thing (a couple of times), some homemade bread with homemade vegan jelly (thank you, Taylor), oatmeal, bean/veggie/tofu/potato burritos, salted popcorn, etc., and haven’t really felt that I was lacking any of my usual suspects (ie: eggs, sour cream, and any form of cheeeeeese, my one true love!) I also have not much missed meat, I usually don’t eat much of it anyway, as it isn’t super appealing and is quite expensive.

My verdict so far: this vegan thing ain’t so bad. That said, tonight I am going to a work party with Taylor, where I will be no doubt tempted by many delicious Asian dishes. Damn.

3 Comments

Filed under Critiques., Recommendations., Thoughts.

3 responses to “What I really think about vegans: Days 1 and 2, and some of 3.

  1. The cheese thing is what’s really going to KILL me. Where has Gigi been posting? I didn’t see anything on the forums and couldn’t find anything on her blog. I feel like I’m late to the party.

Leave a Reply

