What I really think about Farmville: Days 3 and 4.

So very, very many things have happened in the past few days on my farm, I highly doubt that I could incorporate them all into this blog which (tragically) will be my final Farmville entry.

Since last blogging, I have moved up… to a Nimble Farmer, and a Saavy Farmer, and on, but those are the only titles I remember… Level 8! And look at the progress:

As you can see (by devoting far too much time to Farmville) my farm has greatly expanded since the last picture I posted, perhaps almost too much. Since I have advanced so far, I have collected a surplus of coins to spend on crops, buildings, trees, animals, etc. And since I have moved up, I have unlocked and gained access to so many more items at market. Currently, my farm is growing rice, wheat, artichokes, soybeans, daffodils, poinsettias, raspberries, plums, cherries, lemons, apples, squash, eggplant, and I could go on! I have also collected several chickens and sheep, and calfs, a reindeer (don’t ask me what this will harvest, I have no idea, but I’m sort of hoping Christmas lights or gifts pop out it’s ass), a goat, and a duck!

I have also gained about eight neighbors, out of friends who also play Farmville, learned how to give them gifts and fertilize their crops (that’s why some of my little plants are so sparkly!), and to help them shoo harmful animals from their farms.

But, alas, my friends, it is time for Farmville to come to an end, I can already see the adverse effects of it. In just two days I started to semi-plan  my schedule around my crops, so that I might get to them after they harvested but before they withered away. I started spending more and more time on the farm, gifting and requesting and fertilizing and planting and on and on in hopes of gaining more for myself. But once my animals and trees harvested, they started over, and once my plants were harvested, I had to plow them and plant more and wait again for them to harvest, so that I could use the coins I earned to buy more crops. And every-so-often the a screen would pop up, prompting me to purchase more coins and cash at a discounted rate, a special offer, in the next ten minutes (yes, like an informercial) or, perhaps, it was just there to remind me that everything, in the end, is to make a profit. And then what? I buy coins and buy crops and maybe a barn, and more animals, and sit around and wait for them to harvest, and then do it all again–a neverending cycle of buying and planting and harvesting and selling and on and on. It’s sad, and in the end, not really worth all of the things I’m not getting out of it.

Do you see what I’m getting at?

MINIATURE CAPITALISM! In Farmville! Like the oh-so wise Metric once said, “Buy this car to drive to work, drive to work to pay for this car.” And it rings true, even in Farmville.

2 Comments

Filed under Belly-aching., Critiques., Thoughts.

2 responses to “What I really think about Farmville: Days 3 and 4.

  1. I really like this blog. Please continue the great work. Regards!!!

  2. Stacie

    Your initial experience with discovering Farmville is very similar to mine. Unfortunately I lack your wisdom and discipline, and after the first week of discovering the game, I continued to play. After a month of farming, I obsessively check my farm, my friends farms, and my gift box requests. In fact it has gotten so bad, that I have started a semi farm war with my boyfriend which is probably annoying the crap out of our mutual face book friends.

    I never thought that I would be one of “those people” sharing random farm/ mafia/fish/sorority/cafe/pillows/hearts and food fight news with my posse of facebook friends. Sad to say, now that my boyfriend has discovered Farmville, we not only post our achievements and requests, we write notes to each other about what’s going on our respective farms.

    To its credit, farmville allows you to not post these “achievements request mystery eggs, lost animals, what have you” In fact, for the first two weeks of my playing I never posted a single thing. Farmville was my little secret. I would play it once a day in the morning, harvest my trees, crops, and animals, and then plant and purchase new ones. ( BTW I would be curious to know what you “harvested” out of the reindeer.) I had no neighbors, did not visit other people’s farms, or send people gifts.

    Unlike you, I had no qualms ignoring all those little requests from other people. In fact, I didn’t even have to push the ignore button. They would just pile up in the corner of the screen, and every once in a while I would glance and see that I had like 100 requests or notices. I knew they couldn’t be that important, and quite frankly, I had better things to do, like harvest my rice, to even bother reading them.

    Then it happened. My boyfriend innocently asked, “Hey babe, did you get my Farmville neighbor request? I need you to be my neighbor, so that I can get a dairy farm.” So I checked my little request folder.

    After an hour of clearing my inbox, I had 55 farm gifts and 16 neighbors. Not to mention the guns, cash, jewelry, pillows, hearts, food, fish, and zoo gifts that I received. (of which, my favorite had to be the use of a body guard for my “mafia”). So after sending my new neighbors thank you gifts, which due Farmville slowness took another hour, I began to tour my neighbors farms.

    HOLY F**KING SHIT, DUDE!!! I had no clue that farms could look like that. My little puny farmed paled in comparison to their plantations complete with mansions, huge barns, hot rod tractors, and hot air balloons.

    So needless to say, I began a horrible game of lets keep up with the Jone’s farm. For every tree, vehicle, or animal my new neighbors had, I wanted two. It has culminated with me staying up till 3 in the morning to harvest my tress and arrange my farm to accommodate all my new purchases including the six ponds that I placed in a semi circle around my ducks. Thank you for your blog which has given me a fresh look at reality. I too will be out of the farm business tomorrow and go back to ignoring all the little requests in the corner of the screen.

Leave a Reply

