What I really think about blogging.

Ahhh, blogging.

I am of the belief that there are few worthwhile reasons to blog:

1. Your job (I know I will do relatively anything for a few bucks–relatively);

2. To keep in touch with a mass group of people, ie: “here are some pictures of my little family for my distant relatives” or “check out these posting about my trip overseas!”;

3. You actually have something important and meaningful to say, and you know how to say it well, but you’re locked in a small confined space with only a computer;

4. You’re fucking bored and blocked (moi!) and need some sort of outlet, probably just to sit around and bitch and criticize shit (you know you love it!).

And so it ends up that here I am, posting the first entry of my little bitter blog, hoping that perhaps it will push me into some sort of thoughtfulness or inspiration, that maybe I will develop the good habit of sitting down and writing every day, even when I have nothing good to say (and what better place to have nothing good to say than a blog?). Or, maybe, that some publishing executive or editor will stumble upon this, find me unavoidably clever and ask me to write for them, and then I will become rich and well-liked.

Isn’t that always the end goal, after all?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “What I really think about blogging.

  1. I found this blog on the wordpress forums. Pityful life, I know. Scanning random posts in all hopes to find others concurring with my same ideas.

    At last, land ahoy! Great entries & indeed clever writing. Keep it up, sir.

Leave a Reply

